Google Tracks Your Every Move – Check it Out!

If you have a smartphone and you are logged in to a Google account, then you are secretly spyed on. Google uses the geolocation feature to track and store your every move, 24/7.

If you find it hard to believe, just log in to the same Google account you use on your smartphone and follow this link. If your geolocation feature is activate, now you will be able to see mapped records of everywhere you’ve been yesterday, or in the past month.

Creepy, right?

Corroborate this with your search engine history, and you will soon reach the conclusion that Google pretty much knows everything about you.

From the products that you desire (remember the online ads that know exactly what you want?), to the things that interest you, health or emotional issues that you may have (because you’ve Googled for answers, haven’t you?), your favorite restaurant on a Friday night, or your daily route to the office – Google knows everything!

Just imagine what someone in a position of power can do with all this information!

Predictive behavior

And this also opens the door for predictive behavior, similar to what we saw in the movie Minority Report.

Based on the information gathered about you throughout the years, Google can predict how you will react to a variety of things, from newly launched products to major social events.

NSA privacy invasion bad, but nothing compared to Google.
— Rupert Murdoch (@rupertmurdoch) August 17, 2014


How to disable tracking and erase history

If you are as concerned as I am about privacy, then you will be happy to know that there are some things that you can do to minimize your online footprint.

The first step is to access the Google Maps Location history page and click on the gear icon. Now choose to disable the geolocation service.

In order to delete your tracked history, please go back to the Location history page, access the pull-down menu from under the calendar, on the left side. Now choose the “delete all history” feature and you’re done!

On your iPhone, select Settings > Privacy > Location and then tap the green button next to Location Services, the select Turn Off from the pop-up menu.

In order to protect your private life from Google’s prying eyes, next time you search for something online, just log off from your account or use the private browsing/incognito feature of your browser.

This way, your search history will not be directly connected to your Google account.

By Alexander Light, HumansAreFree.com; | References: Hacker News

Close
Menu