Moon eclipse “scheduler”

Find out when the moon eclipse will be visible and where.

Remember, it’s the same eclipse – happening in the same magical moments – for all of us. But our clocks will say different times.

Places that see the lunar eclipse during the night of December 20. North and South America, the islands of the Pacific, Greenland, northwestern Europe and northwestern Africa. For the islands of the Pacific, Hawaii and Alaska, the eclipse starts at early to mid-evening. On the U.S. West Coast, the eclipse starts at late evening. As for the North American east coast and the South American west coast, the eclipse happens in the predawn hours on December 21. In northwestern Europe, northwestern Africa and the South American East Coast, the lunar eclipse is seen at or close to dawn on December 21.

Places that see the lunar eclipse tomorrow – on Tuesday evening, December 21. Northeast Asia, the Philippines, eastern Indonesia, eastern Australia and New Zealand.

The times for the eclipse – below – are listed in Universal Time (and U.S. time zones):

Times for the December 20/21 lunar eclipse.

Partial eclipse starts:
Dec 21 6:33 UT
Dec 21 1:33 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
Dec 21 12:33 a.m. Central Standard Time
Dec 20 11:33 p.m. Mountain Standard Time
Dec 20 10:33 p.m. Pacific Standard Time

Total eclipse starts:
Dec 21 7:41 UT
Dec 21 2:41 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
Dec 21 1:41 a.m. Central Standard Time
Dec 21 12:41 a.m. Mountain Standard Time
Dec 20 11:41 p.m. Pacific Standard Time

Total eclipse ends:
Dec 21 8:53 UT
Dec 21 3:53 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
Dec 21 2:53 a.m. Central Standard Time
Dec 21 1:53 a.m. Mountain Standard Time
Dec 21 12:53 a.m. Pacific Standard Time

Partial eclipse ends:
Dec 21 10:01 UT
Dec 21 5:01 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
Dec 21 4:01 a.m. Central Standard Time
Dec 21 3:01 a.m. Mountain Standard Time
Dec 21 2:01 a.m. Pacific Standard Time

Enjoy!

Close
Menu